News:

PRODUCERS & OTHER FORUMS SITES: Please note - you MUST HAVE A RECIPROCAL LINK back to this site is you wish to ADVERTISE your site on this forum. If you do not have a link back to us, we will remove your posts with immiediate effect - 25th April 2010

Trial By Fire

• 5 Replies

Offline Marie B.

• God Member
  • Big Girls Beware !!
Trial By Fire
« on: October 20, 2010, 08:09:16 PM »

{alt}

My head is finally starting to clear. At least, I think it is. Apparently, I’ve been in a period of free-fall for some time and the world around me has been spinning in circles.

But it’s all starting to come back to me. For a while, I didn’t know who I was, but I do now: I’m Dr. Ann Magnuson. I’m a scientist and I’m standing among trees, flowers and miles and miles of mountainous terrain. But why is it so damn hot? It feels as if I’m in a tropical rain forest.

I look around …….and things start to fall into place.

The time travel experiment.

Of course.

I’m a member of the team that has created the first practical device to enable people to travel through time. And I’m the first one to go through.

We were aiming for the year 1863. I was to be a first-hand witness to the U.S. Civil War. The time travel team was going to give me 24 hours to observe, then they would zero in on me and whisk me back to 2008.

But something went wrong; the time I have arrived in simply can’t be 1863. For one thing, it’s way too hot. The content of the air I’m breathing is too heavily concentrated with oxygen. For another thing, the plant life surrounding me resembles nothing recognizable from my time, nor could it be indigenous to 1863. From the mountain on which I stand, I can see for miles. I see plant life. There is an animal standing in the distance. I’m no paleontologist, but I know a woolly mammoth when I see one. They had gone extinct long before the Civil War, that’s for sure. Many thousands of years before.