News:

COMMERCIAL SITES: Please note - if WANT A BANNER LINK? displayed on this site, please contact FEMMEFIGHT

Writing Styles: First vs. Third Person Narration

• 18 Replies

Offline Kiva

• God Member
  • Critical Care RN
Writing Styles: First vs. Third Person Narration
« on: March 03, 2024, 03:52:06 AM »
Occasionally, I receive messages from members who are considering writing a story to post on FCF for the first time and ask me for advice. I recently had a nice discussion with a prospective writer about techniques for crafting stories. We thought it might be fun to share with the rest of the forum. I know this is basic primer to many of you, but everyone is welcome to share ideas, insights, or questions.

I am not an expert writer. I have published copyrighted nonfictional work related to my nursing profession. I once won a college short story contest, but that’s the extent of my writing career. I still make plenty of mistakes. We are all learning.

After you’ve outlined your story (more on this on another post), decide if you want your story told from the vantage point of a first- or third-person narrative.

First Person Narrative
The story is told from the perspective of one of the characters, usually, but not always, the main character. The narrator uses the pronouns “I’ and “me”.
Pros:
1.   Builds an intimate connection between the character and reader. If done well, readers will embrace the character by knowing his/her thoughts, feelings, observations, reactions, etc. The hope is that readers will want to join the character in the journey that lies ahead.
2.   High level of emotion and intensity. As the tension builds and the narrator faces conflict, the reader will experience the character’s ordeal. A fight scene could have a higher visceral level that might be more difficult to achieve with a third person narration.
Cons: